• Citizens of Talbot County CALL TO ACTION [email protected]

    January 18, 2024
    No Comments

    To the Talbot County Board of Elections (TCBOE)

    Transparency is at the core of confidence in our elections for Talbot County residents and voters.

    Since at least year 2000 there have been people in each political party crying foul in our elections. Every single voter, no matter what affiliation, should want to ensure that our elections are legal, fair and accurate.

    After seeing numerous credible presentations and documents depicting serious anomalies, irregularities, and inaccuracies in both the State of Maryland, as well as Talbot County elections, a concerned group of Citizens of Talbot County requested legal proof from the TCBOE to ensure them that our elections are indeed fair, accurate and honest.

    The requested documents specifically, will determine if any modems or network connections were attached to any voting machines on the elections of the years 2018, 2020, and/or 2022. If wireless modem cards or hardwire modems were attached the election is illegal as the EAC Certification for the voting system is VOID in its entirety.
    Per Md. Code, Elec. Law § 9-102 (“(2) the voting system has been:(i) examined by an independent testing laboratory that is approved by the U.S. Election Assistance Commission; and(ii) shown by the testing laboratory to meet the performance and test standards for electronic voting systems established by the Federal Election Commission or the U.S. Election Assistance Commission;”)

    It is our right as Citizens of Talbot County to demand these audits from you, the Talbot County election board, as our local and state taxes provide for this transparency, as well as according to Maryland law.

    Requested documents, all full and unredacted:
    ES&S Voting Systems - Audit Logs, System Logs, Machine Configuration Logs and Error Logs
    Runbeck Ballot Duplication Systems – Audit Logs, System Logs, Machine Configuration Logs and Error Logs
    Clear Ballot Systems - Audit Logs, System Logs, Machine Configuration Logs and Error Logs

    To date, after multiple written and verbal requests at the monthly board meetings and via letters and emails over more than a year, including but not limited to formal Maryland Public Information Act (MPIA) requests (which gives the public the right to access government records without unnecessary cost and delay), the Talbot County Board of Elections still has NOT provided any the requested required documents.

    Here are the dates of written, oral and MPIA requests by citizens of Talbot County, information requested not provided:
    December 2022, January 2023, February 2023, March 2023, September 2023, October 2023, and January 2024.

    Here are the COMAR statues that requires the Talbot County BOE to produce the above requested system audit reports:
    All “public records” are covered by the PIA. The term “public record” is defined in GP § 4-101(k) and includes not only written material but also photographs, photostats, films, microfilms, recordings, tapes, computerized records, maps, drawings, and any copy of a public record.
    GP § 4-103(a) provides that “[a]ll persons are entitled to have access to information about the affairs of government and the official acts of public officials and employees.” The right is made clear in GP § 4-201(a)(1), which states that, “[e]xcept as otherwise provided by law, a custodian shall permit a person or governmental unit to inspect any public record at any reasonable time.”
    Texas Attorney General addresses the requirement for audit logs:

    With this document, we are requesting a CALL TO ACTION for all Citizens of Talbot County to contact the below elected officials and share this document, and request them to assist you in getting a response from Talbot County BOE:

    Talbot County Board of Elections – [email protected]
    Susan MacKinnon (D) President
    Denise Lovelady (R) Vice President
    Walter Black (D) Board Member
    Barbara Perry (D) Secretary
    Gugy Irving, III (R) Member
    Tammy Stafford – Election Director

    Talbot County Council – Chuck Callahan (R) President [email protected]
    Pete Lesher (D) Vice President [email protected]
    Dave Stepp (R) [email protected]
    Keasha Haythe (D) [email protected]
    Lynn Mielke (R) [email protected]

    Mayor of Easton and Town Council – [email protected]
    Megan Cook (D) Mayor
    Frank Gunsallas (I) Council President
    Maureen Curry (D) 1st Ward Councilmember
    Don Abbatiello (R) 2nd Ward Councilmember
    David Montgomery (R) 3rd Ward Councilmember
    Rev. Elmer Neal Davis Jr. (D) 4th Ward Councilmember

    Elected officials Talbot County: Joe Gamble (R)- Sheriff [email protected]
    Andy Harris (R) Rep District 1 – [email protected]
    Johnny Mautz (R) –State Senator District 37 - [email protected]
    Tom Hutchinson (R) – Delegate 37B - [email protected]
    Chris Adams (R) - Delegate 37B - [email protected]

    Notify of
    Inline Feedbacks
    View all comments
  • Maryland's Premier Investigative Journalism
    Copyright © 2024 The Easton Gazette