• Easton Race For President Of The Town Council Heats Up

    August 7, 2023
    No Comments

    With the election of Megan Cook to the office of Mayor of Easton, a new election for President of the Easton Town Council has to be conducted and will be conducted on September 12, 2023. Requests for absentee ballots to be sent by mail must be in by September 5. Requests for absentee ballots to be sent electronically must be in by September 8.

    Section 13. President of Council; designation; duties; vacancy.

    The President of the Council shall, if present, preside at all meetings of the Council and shall act as Mayor during the absence or temporary incapacity of the Mayor.

    Currently, there are three candidates for this position. Although the race is non-partisan, two of the candidates, Al Silverstein and Robert Willey, are Republicans. One candidate, Frank Gunsallus, has no political affiliation. A fourth candidate, Kevin Bateman, has not completed the application process as of August 2. His political affiliation is unknown.

    Willey has been in local politics for over thirty years having elected to the Town Council in 1991, elected as President of the Town Council in 1993, and Mayor of Easton in 2003.

    Al Silverstein spent twenty years on the Talbot County Economic Development Commission and the Talbot County Office of Tourism.

    Frank Gunsallus is a graduate of Easton High School and Salisbury University Graduate and lives in Easton with his wife and daughter. He works at BDK Inc. an Easton based technology company. He is the youngest of the candidates at 35.

    Bateman is a member of the Easton Historic District Commission.

    Residents of Easton are eligible to vote in the September 12th election.

    Notify of
    Inline Feedbacks
    View all comments
  • Copyright © 2023 The Easton Gazette